ul. Kutuzowa 14
The building which currently houses the City History Department of the Museum of Ceramics was built around 1800 and received an elegant neoclassical form. In 1813, during operations of the Napoleonic campaign, the Commander-in-Chief of the Russian army, Field Marshal Mikhail Kutuzov stayed here. Despite treatment attempts, the typhus-infected marshal died in one of the rooms on the first floor. The event is commemorated by a plaque embedded in the building’s northern façade. Until 1991, a museum dedicated to this figure administered by Russians existed here. Today, the City History Department of the Museum of Ceramics, opened in 2009, collects exhibits reflecting the history of the Bolesławiec region from the ancient times to the present day: archaeological collection, military objects and furnishings typical of the Napoleonic era, iconographic collection as well as items related to World War II and post-war times. Another attraction is the unique and almost complete furnishings of late 19th-century pharmacy.